Ghana withdraws recognition of Kosovo as independent state

Ghana withdraws recognition of Kosovo as independent state

Read Time:1 Minute, 47 Second

Ghana has withdrawn its recognition of Kosovo as an independent state.

A statement from the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Regional Integration on Monday said the withdrawal came after it observed that, the recognization which was inspired by the quest for peace and harmony was, however “premature.”

Ghana in 2012, decided to recognize Kosovo as an independent and sovereign state, leading to the establishment of diplomatic relations between the two countries.

The recognition according to the Ministry of Foreign Affairs was in contravention of the Helsinki Final Act and more fundamentally, in contravention of the UN Security Council Resolution 1244 (1999).

“The decision to recognise Kosovo turned out to be premature in view of paragraph 10 of the UN Security Council Resolution 1244 (1999) which authorised the Secretary-General to establish an international civil presence in Kosovo in order to provide an interim administration for Kosovo under which the people of Kosovo can enjoy substantial autonomy within the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia and which will provide transitional administration while establishing and overseeing the development of provisional democratic self-governing institutions to ensure conditions for a peaceful and normal life of all inhabitants of Kosovo”, the statement said.

Israeli airstrike kills Islamic Jihad commander

According to the statement:

“Ghana has taken into account the ongoing dialogue between Serbia and Kosovo aimed at resolving the issue of the latter’s quest to be recognized as an independent and sovereign entity and supports the ongoing process to bring finality to the matter.”

Meanwhile, the Ministry says it has availed itself of this opportunity to renew, to the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Serbi, the assurances of its highest considerations.

Kosovo’s independence

In February 2008, Kosovo unilaterally proclaimed independence from Serbia and has been recognized, as Pristina.

Serbia, along with China, Greece, Israel, Russia and several other states, does not recognize it.

Apart from Ghana, the list of states that have revoked recognition of Kosovo includes Burundi, the Central African Republic, Comoros, Dominica, Guinea-Bissau, Grenada, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Sao Tome and Principe, Solomon Islands, Suriname and Togo.


Average Rating

5 Star
4 Star
3 Star
2 Star
1 Star

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: