Bagbin’s aide confirms he is running for presidency in 2020

It has finally been confirmed that the Second Deputy Speaker of Parliament Alban Sumana Kingsford Bagbin is lacing his boots to contest as flagbearer of the opposition National Democratic Congress (NDC) when the party opens for nominations.

The longest serving Member of Parliament (MP) for Nadowli/ Kaleo constituency in the Upper West Region has finally put to rest rife speculations he was eyeing the slot of the flagbearer of his party following the circulation of his posters earlier this week.

“What Hon. Alban Bagbin has done since 1992 is to serve his people and that call is emanating again. That call is for him to even occupy a higher position to serve the party well and that is the position of the NDC flagbearership” aide Konoba Joe confirmed.

“When leadership is emanating from the appeal of the people that at this particular point in time, this is the most suitable person to lead us towards a desired destination it is no more the call to that person but a call to duty”

“Everything has its season and this is a season for the re-organization of the party. He will heed to the calls of the people so that NDC years in opposition will not be plenty”, he stated

The confirmation comes at the back of speculations that the MP and others have presidential ambitions and will not wish to see the return of Former President John Dramani Mahama .

Names like Former Ministers of Communications, Dr Edward Omane Boamah; Employment and Labor Relations, Haruna Iddrisu; Roads and Highways; Inusah Fuseini; Education, Prof Jane Naana Opoku Agyemang; Foreign Affairs, Hannah Serwah Tetteh; Trade and Industry; Dr Ekow Spio Gabrah; Elvis Afriyie Ankrah, former Minister of State and Mahama Ayariga, Minister of Environment, Science, Technology and Innovations, are all reported interested in leading the NDC into the 2020 election.

Others reported to be interested in leading the party after Mr Mahama’s reign include former Ministers of Youth and Sports, Edwin Nii Lante Vanderpuije; Gender, Children and Social Protection, Nana Oye Lithur; former Brong Ahafo Minister, Eric Opoku; former Central Regional Minister; Kwaku Rickett Hagan; former Minister of State at the presidency, Rashid Pelpuo; and former majority leader and now 2nd deputy Speaker of Parliament; Alban Kingsford Sumane Bagbin.

The likes of immediate past Senior Policy Adviser and Head of Presidential Delivery Unit, Dr Valerie Sawyer; former MP for La Dadekotopon, Nii Amasah Namoale; former Chief Executives of NHIA, Sylvester Mensah; COCOBOD’s Dr Stephen Opuni; Eco Medical Village’s, Dzifa Aku Ativor; former KMA boss, Kojo Bonsu; 1st vice Chairman of NDC, Samuel Ofosu Ampofo; former Minister of Health, Alex Segbefia; MP for Klottey Korle; Dr Zanetor Rawlings; Anlo MP; Clement Kofi Humado and former vice President, Paa Kwesi Amissah Arthur were also reported to be interested in the post.

Others have however indicated that they are not interested in running for presidency and will throw thei support behind the best candidates.



Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: